It’s All About Me

So it looks like I’ve been given a blogging award by Mommy Said a Swear Word. It’s kind of a cool feeling to be honored for something that I put quite a bit of effort into. I mean, I think about it often. I spend time with it. I nurture it. I’ve watched it grow. And for my hard work and loyalty—and so soon after my blog’s birth—I have this lovely badge of honor to proudly display. Someone likes what I do. They appreciate me. I don’t know what to say. Just, thank you.

It is mind-blowing, this praise thing. There has to be a way to get our kids into this award business. It would be pretty cool if, say, instead of during a quiet meal that I think my son enjoys, he didn’t lean over to me and whisper, “This is disgusting.” I’d much rather be presented with a ribbon or a trophy or hear, “Thanks, Mom, for a warm meal every night.” But, hey, that’s just me maybe?

So to proceed with the acceptance of this award, I must reveal seven secrets about myself. Since I am quite the boring mom, really, and have no secrets that I can think of (or can remember anyway), I’ll tell you seven things about me that you may or may not want to know.

1) I am terrified of heights. In movies where a character is faced with a scene on a ledge or something equally horrific, my palms sweat, I go weak and panic. I’m having trouble typing this just thinking about it.

2) My job as a reporter many years ago allowed me to do some really cool things and meet some awesome people. I flew in a four-seater airplane (couldn’t look down!) and then wondered the whole time why on earth I agreed to it.

3) I can touch my elbow with my tongue.

4) If my house caught on fire, I’d try to grab my recipe box (after my kids, of course). It is a large antique recipe box that I have put a lot of time into and all of those recipes are delicious. But I wouldn’t ask my kids for their opinion on that.

5) I do not like Elvis music. I never have. Never will.

6) I do, however, love old things. I collect jadeite dishes and vintage kitchen items, Art Deco pictures, and other odds and ends from the 1920s through ‘50s. They just don’t make stuff like they used to.

7) I love music, but I often cannot tell you who the singer is or the name of the song. When the show CSI first came out, I got caught singing the wrong lyrics. I wondered why they picked a song about New Orleans for a show based in Las Vegas.… “Neeeeeew Awlins, doop, do, doop, do.”

Now I have to list blogs I enjoy. I am just getting the hang of all of this to start actually following other people regularly, but here are a few that have caught my eye so far, a smorgasbord of fun spaces. I may have left someone out (blogroll to come soon). But really, go check these out.

Mommy Said a Swear Word

Messy Quest

Melissa’s Southern Style Kitchen

Momma Be Thy Name

This Woman’s Work

The Unvarnished Mom

What I Meant 2 Say 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life

6 responses to “It’s All About Me

  1. Lisa

    Congratulations! On your way to being rich and famous. Remember I want a free week at your beach house.

    I guess I can cross off bungee jumping or parachuting during our trip but I do have several Elvis CD’s. I’ll make sure I’ll pack ’em…

  2. Kim E.

    Hmmm…..I can think of a few. Just kidding! Good job. I look forward to the blogs. It gets me through my crazy days.

  3. Thank you for tagging my blog! mommysaidaswearword did as well. I am going to write a post tomorrow formally accepting my award, and I will graciously accept it from the both of you. I love your blog and like to spend time hanging around here. Thanks a ton!

  4. Pingback: I’m Gonna Need a Bigger Shelf « whatimeant2say

Leave a comment